The Burning – Book Review #10

This is the first book in the Maeve Kerrigan series by Jane Casey. There are 8 books in the series as well as some short stories.

The Burning By Jane Casey

Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French

The Burning Man. It’s the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London’s parks. And now there’s a fifth.

Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve’s empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke?

My Thoughts

This book seemed to drag for me. It took me longer than a week to read and I started to get a little annoyed with it.
I thought I was going to be reading about the hunt for The Burning Man, but he wasn’t the focus of the story.

I don’t want to say too much in case I spoil it for someone, but the ending left me feeling a little flat. One part at the end even had me wondering who the characters were that I was reading about; it turned out they were from the very start of the story and I’d totally forgotten about them.

I did, however, like Maeve and I’m going to try the next book in the series to see if I want to carry on with the rest.

The Burning by Jane Casey book cover

Goodreads 2019 reading challenge 10 books read


MamaMummyMum
 

For more book-related posts, click here

5 Comments

  1. Chantelle Hazelden (@MamaMummyMum) 24th March 2019 at 8:31 am

    Even though you weren’t entirely enthralled with this novel I have to admit your review has me intrigued, I think the front cover is quite inviting! #readwithme

  2. Kate on thin ice (@kateonthinice) 22nd March 2019 at 11:41 am

    Well done you on being honest about how you found it. Think more my husband’s cup of tea than mine on this one #ReadWithMe

  3. mumjd 20th March 2019 at 7:24 pm

    From the blurb, I would expect the same as you, a hunt for the Burning Man. So I’ll take your advice and skip this one #readwithme

  4. sarahmo3w 20th March 2019 at 8:05 am

    The blurb got me interested, but after your review, I think I will give this one a miss! There are plenty of really good thrillers out there to read, so there’s no point wasting time on a mediocre one.

  5. Catherine @ Story Snug 19th March 2019 at 2:14 pm

    I’m not sure whether this would be my kind of book or not. I appreciate your honesty and hope you enjoy the next book.

    #ReadWithMe

Don't be shy, come and talk to me! :o)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.