Daily Archives:

19th March 2019

5 Things you may not know about overcoming addiction as a young professional

Addiction is a broad topic. Mostly, when experts talk about the concept, they will highlight that it is often a struggle that develops either physically or psychologically. Most of the time addiction develops after a long history of abuse of a particular drug. Sometimes they are legal or illegal and may not include drugs at all. Some are also addicted to sex, gambling, eating disorders, or other things.

silhouette of a man drinking a bottle of alcohol - addiction

Professionals, especially the young ones, might get themselves into binge drink not knowing of the danger that lies ahead. The thing is, once you expose yourself to the chance of losing your job or even quitting if it develops into a habit is the moment you have gone too far.

 

If you are a professional and you are thinking of quitting your addictive behaviours, here are five things that you would have to consider in the process.

 

  1.  Make a decision

 

Treatment centres discourage people from going into rehab before they make a decision. Most centres will refuse to accept you if you are yet to make a decision.

 

For that reason, sit down with yourself, and make a choice. Start by being honest with yourself. Then, you have to decide on the goals you want. After you decide, inform your workmates, boss, family, and friends.

 

On that note, the centre may also not allow you to register if your family wants you to get into rehabilitation through your consent.

 

  1. Get rid of triggers

 

Triggers represent those things that lead you to temptations. For instance, if you are a sex addict, you have to eliminate porn materials in your home or room.

 

For drug addicts, it is proper that you remove all the type of drugs that cause you to relapse. Do not leave any trace since they can cause you to change your decisions.

 

It is also wise that you avoid walking into clubs or parties that have drugs such as alcohol or marijuana because you can end up getting drunk that day.

 

  1. Look for support

 

At this point, you may have to look for a new batch of friends, whether it is at work or in your neighbourhood. Ditch your old friends and tell them of your goals.

 

Tell your family about what you intend to do. Choose people or friends who you know that will not judge you in any way.

 

A good support system will avoid relapse, respect your decision, and even honour your privacy. People with a positive mind can motivate you to turn away from your habits.

  1. Seek professional help

 

It will shock you to find out that people will offer you all kinds of advice. However, they should understand that addiction treatment is very different for all victims.

 

Therefore, your friends may not give you the best treatment that you require. Look for a rehabilitation centre.

 

Most doctors or counsellors will have to do an initial screening before they start helping you through the process.

 

  1. Avoid indulging into new addictive behaviour

 

Most individuals, once they discover that they need to deal with a particular addiction, they will begin new habits, which also develop into an obsession.

 

For instance, sexual addicts usually engage in exercises, which, if not careful, create a habit that becomes difficult to stop.

 

You have to trust the professional that you hire so that he or she can assist you in identifying habits that would crop up in your recovery process.

 

Final remarks

 

Be sure to open up to your counsellor so that you can get personalized help. If the addiction goes overboard, you might lose your job, which, as a young professional, can be devastating for you.

 

Therefore, ensure that you complete your treatment once you enroll because it can be a significant factor of whether you will get a new job or not.

This is a collaborative post

The Burning – Book Review #10

This is the first book in the Maeve Kerrigan series by Jane Casey. There are 8 books in the series as well as some short stories.

The Burning By Jane Casey

Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French

The Burning Man. It’s the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London’s parks. And now there’s a fifth.

Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve’s empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke?

My Thoughts

This book seemed to drag for me. It took me longer than a week to read and I started to get a little annoyed with it.
I thought I was going to be reading about the hunt for The Burning Man, but he wasn’t the focus of the story.

I don’t want to say too much in case I spoil it for someone, but the ending left me feeling a little flat. One part at the end even had me wondering who the characters were that I was reading about; it turned out they were from the very start of the story and I’d totally forgotten about them.

I did, however, like Maeve and I’m going to try the next book in the series to see if I want to carry on with the rest.

The Burning by Jane Casey book cover

Goodreads 2019 reading challenge 10 books read


MamaMummyMum
 

For more book-related posts, click here

%d bloggers like this: