Top Horse Races In Australia

horse races
Image by Clarence Alford from Pixabay
This is a collaborative post. 
Always gamble responsibly

Horse racing is a huge sport in Australia, with major events that take place all over the country throughout the year. Listed here are a few of the many exciting horse races that take place in Australia.

1. The Melbourne Cup

First run in 1861, ‘the race that stops the nation’ is the biggest horseracing event on the calendar. This 3200-metre turf race occurs during the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington Racecourse and is run on the first Tuesday of November every year. The main race is at 3pm AEST, with thousands of people watching the race at the track and millions more around the world tuning in. It is one of the richest horse races in Australia with a total prize purse of $8,000,000. There are also fashion competitions held during the day, notable celebrities and plenty of great gourmet food and drink to be enjoyed.

2. The Birdsville Races

Birdsville in Queensland has horse racing at the Birdsville Race Club year-round, with the main event usually held every September. The Birdsville Races will be held in April 2022 due to a postponement of the event in 2021. The race distance is 1600 meters on a turf track and was first run in 1882. The nearby town of Quilpie hosts travellers who are heading westward to Birdsville to enjoy the two-day event when the population goes from 100 people to over 7000 people. 13 races in total take place over the two days, with the Birdsville Cup Open Handicap being the richest with a total prize purse of $40,000AUD. It is one of the Q150 iconic races of Queensland which it was awarded in 2009.

3. The Everest

The Everest race takes place during the Sydney Racing Carnival at the Royal Randwick Racecourse and is the richest race in Australia and the richest turf race in the world with a total prize purse of $15,000,000AUD. It is a relatively new race that was inaugurated in 2017. It is a right-handed 1200-meter race that was first won by Redzel ridden by Jockey Kerrin McEvoy, who also won the race in 2018. Thoroughbred gelding Nature Strip ridden by jockey James McDonald was the latest winner in October 2021. 

4. Queen Elizabeth Stakes

This Group 1 thoroughbred race was inaugurated in 1851 and is the Sydney Autumn Carnival’s richest race with a total prize purse of $4,000,000AUD which was raised from $500,000 in 2014. The race is run at a distance of 2000 meters at the Royal Randwick Racecourse. There have been plenty of famous champion racehorses who have won the race multiple times including Tulloch in 1958, 1960 and 1961, Winx in 2017, 2018 and 2019 and Carbine back in 1889, 1890 and 1891. Thoroughbred Addeybb is the most recent winner who won twice in 2020 and 2021.

5. The Australian Oaks

This race was inaugurated in 1885 as the AJC Oaks and was won by Uralla. It is a right-handed Group 1 race that takes place at the Royal Randwick Racecourse at a distance of 2400 meters. It has a total prize purse of $1,000,000AUD and was most recently won by Hungry Heart in April 2021. There have also been many champions to win over the years including Light Fingers in 1965, Research in 1989, Surround in 1977, Leilani in 1974, and Evening Peal in 1956, and Verry Elleegant in 2019.